Imagine

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

I don’t usually write about current events especially if it’s about sensitive topics but I just can’t help it this time. This issue is close to my heart because I studied international relations back in college. I studied International Law, Human Rights, and Foreign Policy among others. My thesis was actually about the European Rapid Reaction Force (ERRF) which was basically in charge of aiding European states during times of unrest. At work, my world revolves around issues of Money Laundering, Sanctions, and Terrorist Financing. It is my job to prevent terrorists and perpetrators of other crimes from accessing the financial system.

Honestly, just reading the news, my Facebook feed, and other news sites exhaust the hell out of me. It’s so frustrating! This, all this, has got to stop. The violence. The merciless killings.

Innocent lives are at stake here. Many people are suffering because of what? I don’t even know what these terrorists are fighting for anymore. Religion? I don’t think so, because last time I checked, it is a sin to take someone’s life REGARDLESS of religion, belief, or race.

Let me share with you something I read recently which I totally agree with. (Link: Elephant Journal)

Here is an excerpt:

The Dalai Lama on terrorist attacks: “We cannot solve this problem only through prayers. … I believe in praying. But humans have created this problem, and now we are asking God to solve it. It is illogical. So let us work for peace … and not expect help from God, Buddha or the governments.”

Case in point: During the aftermath of the recent Paris attacks, a lot of people used the hashtag #PrayforParis in their posts to show solidarity. I see nothing wrong with it, honestly. You know what bugs me the most? Self-righteous people who think that they are much better than everyone else becase ~they know everything~. There were criticisms saying that it’s not just Paris who is experiencing this. That we should #PrayfortheWorld instead of praying for just one country. That changing your Facebook profile photo is useless and stupid.

Well, here’s what I think: If you have nothing nice (or even remotely useful) to say, then don’t say anything at all.

I never posted anything about the attacks and never used any of these hashtags until this post so, no, I’m not being biased. (This does not make me better than everyone else either.) I just feel that we everyone should just turn all this energy into a more positive one. During times like this, it is more important to spread love and peace instead of negativity. I mean, there are thousands of innocent people who are dying out there, in different parts of the world, and a lot of them are children. We should lean towards unity and solidarity instead of bashing one another.

I shall end this post by quoting my spirit animal, Rapunzel:

“FIND YOUR HUMANITY.”

(Although when she said it, it was more like, FIND YOUR HUMANITY!!!!!!!!!!*hysterical*)

Tell me what you think!

