The Greatest Adventure

Exactly six years ago, I woke up not knowing that it will finally break the walls I built around myself and let someone in.

I was twenty years old, (almost) fresh from college. I’ve been working at the Bank for a year and I was having the time of my life. I went out with my colleagues every Friday, bar-hopping, drinking until I pass out. By Monday, I will be the talk of the town. They found my antics hilarious, they loved how wild I was, and I was proud that I was finally out of my comfort zone.

And then he happened.

I first met him during my first Christmas party at the Bank. I was dressed in a Las Vegas Golden Girl outfit because as the baby of the team, I was forced to perform on stage. (Mind you, I cannot dance to save my life.) After the party, he joined us while we were having drinks in a nearby bar. I got drunk. I remember the drink: Frozen Blue Margarita. I remember him sitting quietly, watching us make a fool out of ourselves. I threw up (again) and passed out (again). Who would have thought that silent guy would eventually become the most important man in my life (after my dad)?

Six years later, here we are. Still together.

We have come a long way. I am no longer that wild teen and he’s no longer the type of person who will not talk unless you speak to him. Somehow, we grew up to be the best version of ourselves. We survived these past six years holding each other’s hand, conquering one hurdle at a time.

He accepted my flaws and helped me become a better person. I know that I am still far from ideal and I still have heaps to learn, but he never gave up on me. Not even once. He is my strength, my chunky pillar, my hope.

Letting him in was the best decision I have ever made in my entire life.

Loving him and being with him is by far, my life’s greatest adventure.

One thought on “The Greatest Adventure

Tell me what you think!

