Cambodia: Behind The Scenes

Most people (me included) have this tendency to share pictures that are much better and more presentable. I mean, I normally don’t want to share a picture of myself in all my sweaty glory. Who would want that, right?

Anyway, since I realized that I already wrote pretty much everything about our trip to Siem Reap here, here and here (or better yet just check in the Travels menu for the complete list) I decided to show the not-so pretty side of traveling under the sweltering heat.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the never-before seen haggard pictures that I have been hiding from the public eye for almost two years:

1

Tada! We were literally covered in sweat.

The temperature at that time was nearing 40 degrees celsius. Even though we already live in a tropical country, the highest temperature that we experience in Manila is between 31-33 degrees. I almost gave up and begged everyone to just go back to the car but I didn’t want to spoil the fun and admittedly, I was also having fun myself.

2

We had fun. See?

Despite the heat, we still managed to take a lot of pictures and even do jump shots. Perhaps that was why we got exhausted. Our tour guide, Dat, was proactive enough to suggest different kinds of tourist-y poses. I guess it comes with experience.

4

Is this even legal?

8

Our only picture with Dat. I ruined the shot. Heehee.

Cy was the only one who managed to climb the temple, not only because Shane and I were already tired but also because we were wearing shorts and sleeveless tops. In order to climb, we have to wear a sarong to cover our skin but unfortunately we didn’t bring one. (We totally missed that from our research.)

3

On top of the world. Not.

We asked Dat to drop us off at the Old Market after the tour. It was almost similar to Ben Thanh Market in Ho Chi Minh City. We rode a tuk-tuk (I’m not sure if they also call it tuk-tuk but we never asked them) on the way back to the hotel.

5

Matchy-matchy hats

6

Shopping mode?

We bought extra clothes from the market as well as other souvenir items (shirts, bags and purses). They accept both USD and Cambodian Riel (KHR) when you shop or pay for food so ensure that you bring plenty of small USD bills. Meal prices normally range from USD 1.50 – USD 3.00.

9

When we got back to the hotel, we took a quick dip at the pool to cool off. After that, we took a very long nap (we were that exhausted) until it was dark. We then went to Pub Street where the restaurants, bars and night market are.

7

Interior of our hotel room — Life is a journey indeed

I miss Siem Reap!

Tell me what you think!

