After The Dream

Once upon a time, there was a princess named Erika.

Growing up in a tropical land, it had always been a dream of hers to experience winter. The mere idea of being surrounded by powdery white snow excites her, even though she has poor health and subjecting herself to extreme shift in temperature would only weaken her.

Despite the risks, for years she still prayed that one day her dream would come true.

To celebrate her 26th birthday, the princess traveled to a foreign land with the hope of winter. It rained for days but there was no sight of snow and she almost gave up. On the third day, her prince brought her to a nearby mountain temple and alas, there it was— Snow. Up close. Within reach.

She thought she was dreaming, for the thing she had been dreaming of for the longest time was finally right in front of her.

It was definitely one of the best days of her life.

A/N: I am so glad that the daily prompt from The Daily Post is back. This is my version of Once Upon a Time: Tell us about something that happened to you in real life last week — but write it in the style of a fairy tale. I used the title After The Dream because everything feels so surreal and I still can’t wrap my head around it.

Now that I finally got what I want, I am at a loss. I should be happy but somehow I feel that there’s something missing and I just can’t quite figure it out. Perhaps I am simply saddened by the fact that vacation is over and I have to go back to reality tomorrow. I can just imagine the number of e-mails that I have to read and the cases that I need to work on!

I also need to find another dream to fill this emptiness.

I can do this!

One thought on “After The Dream

Tell me what you think!

