The Fault In Our Stars v.3

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think this book review I did about The Fault In Our Stars (TFIOS) is this blog’s most viewed entry. I was just so in love with the book at that time, hence I almost wrote the whole content here.

You see, I am constantly searching for books that would touch lives, and TFIOS is definitely one of those stories that did just that. I know that it’s tragic, and I hate tragic stories, but the good things in this book outweighed the tragedy.

I wasn’t that excited about the movie at first. Well, I initially was, when I first heard about the movie adaptation. However, when I saw the trailer, that’s when my excitement died down. My mind was buzzing with comments and questions, some of which are as follows:

1. Why Shailene Woodley?! I don’t like her that much.
2. The guy isn’t my type. It’s not how I envisioned Augustus Waters.
3. I didn’t understand the dialogues. Either they talk too fast, or they don’t talk clearly.

I waited for the buzz to die down before watching it with a friend. Seriously, why do people even post crying selfies? Why do they have to show the world that the movie made them cry? Does it make them cooler? God, it’s so hard to understand humans sometimes.

Anyway, back to the topic. The movie. Focus, E! Focus!

I always say that the book is always better than its movie adaptation, and it’s true in most cases. What I love most about the TFIOS movie is that I didn’t even bother to compare it with its book counterpart. You can not read the book and still enjoy and appreciate the movie. In fact, though I know that there are minor discrepancies, I couldn’t pinpoint which is which. They were able to tell the story beautifully, a rare feat. (Yes, I’m looking at you with eyes full of judgment, TMI: City of Bones!)

And Ansel Elgort, I may have judged you— for that, I am sorry. Ansel’s acting was so natural. Whenever he looks at Hazel (Shailene Woodley’s character), it feels as if he is looking directly at you; and you can’t help but fall in love too. He has this boyish charm that’s so easy to love. He did Augustus Waters justice, I wanna cry.

Yes, my friend and I cried during the movie albeit only on some parts. I cried when Hazel and her mother had a heated argument; when Isaac and Hazel delivered their eulogies in front of the still-living Augustus; and when Augustus died and Hazel was crying so hard in her bed. I think I cried most, however, during the last part when Hazel was reading Gus’ letter. Ugh, my heart!

But I’m okay now. Okay? Okay.

To rub some salt to the wound, I will be ending this entry with one of my favorite quotes from the book:

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.” – Augustus

Tell me what you think!

