Konnichiwa!

I’m back from the Land of the Rising Sun!

I’ve been getting a lot of questions from family and friends about Tokyo, and honestly speaking, I have nothing much to say because I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I just went there. For one, we only had like 3 weeks preparation, everything was so sudden! Until now, I still can’t believe that I finally crossed out another item from my bucket list.

Anyway, here are my thoughts about Tokyo (in bullets, because I’m lazy like that):

– Vendo machines are everywhere, and I love it! We even ordered Katsudon from a vendo machine, it was quite an experience.

image

Ordering Katsudon from the vendo. I still managed to smile despite the confusion.

– Japanese people are polite and helpful. They try to answer your questions and assist you despite the language barrier.

– Japanese toilets are the coolest! Almost everything’s automated. (Except for the traditional toilets that are literally on the floor where you have to crouch down to pee.)

– Earthquakes are a normal occurrence. We were woken up at around 5am last Monday because of the intense shaking of the bed. Everything around us was shaking. It scared the hell out of me.

– You have to walk all the time, and that’s the only thing that sucked. I usually hate walking but I still do it whenever we are abroad. Recently though, I’ve been experiencing this terrible heel pain that just won’t go away. It made the whole walking experience agonizing after a couple of hours of roaming around.

image

Yep, that’s me (candid shot c/o the boyfriend, hence the poker face) while taking one of the many compulsory “breaks” where I remove my shoes and stretch my legs to let the blood flow. Oh my poor, ailing feet.

– The cost of living is high, but the food are affordable except for fast food.

– It can get freakin’ cold even at spring time.

I can’t wait to go back and explore Osaka, Kyoto, and maybe Hokkaido? :)

Tell me what you think!

