Yes or No

image

Remember my previous post about signs?

Well, in an interesting turn of events, Human Resources called me last Monday and informed me that I passed the job interview for a certain position in my dream department. I sent my application two or three months ago, and only now did I receive a call. I already accepted the fact that I didn’t get in, but lo and behold, someone calls me out of the blue to tell me otherwise.

Here I thought I saw the sign, but apparently, the universe gives us mixed signals sometimes.

I’ve been confused these past couple of days. Which one should I choose? What my heart feels, or what my mind tells me? This is a battle between passion and practicality. Learning vs Progress. Dream vs Ambition. Either way, I will be taking in a huge responsibility. I just have to decide which is worth the time and effort.

Earlier today (or yesterday, rather), I finally made up my mind.

Position X may entail long hours of work, but I know I will learn a lot. It may be a lateral movement, but I know that if I continue doing what I’m currently doing, then I will get that upgrade in due time. I just have to prove myself.

The upgrade and incentives that go with choosing Position Y may be tempting, but I know myself…and honestly speaking, it’s not for me. This whole sales thing isn’t me, and it would be unfair for me to get something that I think I don’t deserve.

So there. Wish me luck. I know I will have to disappoint some— people who have been there for me these past few years, people who have given me so much faith and confidence— and I will feel bad about it.

Howevee, this is life. It goes on. There are times that we need to get out of our comfort zone to achieve our dreams.

Tell me what you think!

