Signs Schmigns

Do good things come to those who wait? Or do good things come to those who go out and get them?

Last week, my boss’ boss’ boss offered me a promotion. She gave me until May 7 to decide. And now I’m freaking out! I should be happy, right? But why am I having second thoughts?

The truth is, I’m scared. A part of me says this isn’t for me. Can I handle this? Am I even deserving? What if I fail? I don’t want to let anyone down.

I knew this was coming, so why am I afraid? Eight months ago, she already talked to me about her plans for my career. I just didn’t expect it to be happening so soon. I am flattered, really. But…I don’t know. I’m just so scared to fail, she believes so much in me; I don’t want to disappoint her. I don’t want to fail.

The questions above are spot-on. I just found it while browsing through Thought Catalog, and I’m thinking how amazing it is to always find something like this whenever I am facing a dilemma, or if I need to make an important life decision. It seems as if the universe is giving me a sign.

But then, signs are there for those who want to see them. In the words of the wise Ted Mosby (HIMYM):

Maybe there aren’t any signs. Maybe… maybe a locket’s just a locket, and… a chair’s just a chair. Maybe we don’t have to give meaning to every little thing. And maybe we don’t… Maybe we don’t need the universe to tell us what we really want. Maybe we already know that. Deep down.

You can ask the universe for signs all you want but ultimately we’ll only see what we want to see…when we’re ready to see it.

(I don’t remember if he said the two quotes above in just one episode, but the point is, it makes sense.)

Deep inside, I know I will take it. I am ambitious in my own way, and I have this urge to always prove myself. Honestly, I didn’t know that I had it in me, but that’s the truth. I know that things will always work out, everything will fall into place.

I was scared to take the job that I have now, but I’ve only been here for two quarters and so far, I can say that I excel in this role. Or maybe I’m just lucky?

Nevertheless, there’s no harm in trying. I know that nothing will happen to me unless I take risks…and this is one of them.

It’s now or never.

One thought on “Signs Schmigns

  1. ComaDiary says:

    Good luck! It’s always scary I think, being given a promotion, but also at the same time it’s a nice challenge that someone thinks so highly of you :)

Tell me what you think!

