Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up

Once again, The Daily Post is spot-on.

You. We know *you* are vice-free, dear Daily Post reader. But, or perhaps we should say, “butt,” others around you and in your life are riddled with vices: they smoke; they eat too much celery; they hog the covers; they can’t keep their hands out of the office candy bowl. Which vice or bad habit can you simply not abide in others?

I don’t have any vices. Do I?

Unless you consider eating a vice, then I am guilty. But no, last time I checked, eating cannot really be classified as a vice so…there you go.

Okay, smoking. It is a major pet peeve of mine! I hate the smell of cigarette smoke. (Or any kind of smoke, to tell you honestly.) I don’t know if it’s because I am severely allergic to it, or if it was simply a conscious decision that I made a long time ago. Anyway, I have never smoked in my entire life. Never will. No matter how drunk I am, no one can ever force me to try smoking. Tried and tested. (Unfortunately, majority of my friends smoke. Even my boyfriend, which sucks.)

I often wonder, what is it with smoking that makes it so addicting to people? I really do not understand.

This weekend, I went clubbing with my girlfriends. I haven’t been active in the party scene in ages. Guess what, I ended up in the Emergency Room of the nearest hospital due to an asthma attack. I was basically trapped inside a room full of smoke, so it triggered an allergic reaction. I couldn’t breathe, I thought I was going to collapse. It was scary.

I’m alright now, but the doctor said that I am still hypersensitive. My activities will be limited for the next couple of weeks or so, and I have to avoid allergens that could trigger an attack (even food). Now, every time I go out, I have to put a surgical mask on to protect myself from smoke and dirt.

Talk about major hassle.

When will the government ban smoking in this country? Oh wait, our very own president is a chain-smoker! FML.

Secondhand smoke will be the death of me.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up

Tell me what you think!

