The Fault In Our Stars v.2

A couple of weeks ago, the trailer of The Fault In Our Stars or TFIOS, as some would refer to it (when did that happen?!), was finally released. I must say, I felt mixed emotions when I watched it— glee, apprehension, sadness, and confusion, to name a few.

I felt happy, finally the world will get to witness Hazel and Gus in action. But then there’s doubt. I have never seen a movie adaptation that turned out better than or equal to the book itself. (Except maybe for Harry Potter movies which were equally good as the books, but then, it has always been an exception to the rule.)

Anyway, I also felt a tinge of sadness. Mainly because, well, I know how things will end up. And do I want to torture myself again? Do I really want to see these time bombs explode in front of my eyes? I say yes, because it’s a good story after all…but then, it really will be like rubbing salt to a fresh wound.

Confusion. Gus… I love Gus. The actor they chose is gorgeous, I guess. But the way he delivers his line, he speaks so fast! I expected the big speech about love and oblivion to be, I don’t know, heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time? But when I watched it, I almost didn’t realize that it was that moment already! (Or does this have something to do with me growing up in a country where English isn’t the primary language?)

Anyway, I will give this movie a chance like what I did to The Mortal Instruments a.k.a. TMI to others (why do people keep on abbreviating titles?), and The Time Traveler’s Wife. I am certain that I will still bawl my eyes out silly once the film starts rolling.

Tell me what you think!

