After All This Time?

Proposal videos and prenup photos and videos are not my thing.

While I enjoy watching whenever I see a good one, I don’t see myself partaking in the said activity. Personally, I don’t like the idea of paying a fortune to pose awkwardly in front of the cameras just to show the public how in love you two are. For one, it’s scripted. I appreciate the candid moments more. Another thing, it’s uncomfortable. I don’t like being the center of attention.

As I’ve said, I still enjoy watching these videos whenever I see one that’s worth watching. I’ve seen quite a number of adorable videos, and I must admit that they are heartwarming. Then of course there are those that the desire to show off is more evident than their love for each other. back to my main point.

Anyway, the reason for this post is this video.

I saw it from one of my Facebook friends’ post and of course my full attention was captured when I saw these two keywords: HARRY POTTER.

All my friends know how much of a Potterhead I am.

I love Harry Potter so much that I made it a point to visit Platform 9 3/4, line up for hours outside Odeon Cinema in Leicester Square despite the cold weather just to get a glimpse of the Harry Potter cast, made an impromptu trip to Singapore to attend the Harry Potter exhibit, and until now, I’m even considering getting a tattoo as long as it’s Harry Potter inspired.

You may call me a geek, but I won’t hide the fact that I use Harry Potter reference in my daily life (I call my friend Mafalda, compare my colleague to Rita Skeeter, etc), and words like accio and lumos are part of my vocabulary. In fact, I even used an excerpt from Harry Potter for the title of this post. It’s romantic, don’t you think? (Depending on the context, I mean.)

I almost melted when I was watching the video. If I was that girl, I wouldn’t know how to react. Just the thought of a Harry Potter themed scavenger hunt surprise makes me want to pee in my pants in excitement.

What made me like the video though wasn’t only the Harry Potter theme. The guy Jaysin (strange name) prepared a scavenger hunt for his girlfriend, and apparently he always does that. My boyfriend has this habit of setting up a scavenger hunt for me as well. I always tell him that he does it for the pleasure of seeing me sweaty and exhausted after all the walking and thinking, but I super appreciate the effort. Just thinking about it gives me butterflies, because it’s not everyday that you meet someone who would go the extra mile to make you smile.

I guess that’s what’s more important— the effort and the rationale behind the action, be it a simple surprise or a marriage proposal. It doesn’t have to be a high budget and high profile extravaganza. As long as it is from the heart, and the intentions are pure, then it would beat the shit out of all the proposals in the world.

It’s always the thought and effort (and love) that counts.

Tell me what you think!

