Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch

This topic was posted three days ago but I’m going to write about it anyway—

Write about evil: how you understand it (or don’t), what you think it means, or a way it’s manifested, either in the world at large or in your life.

Personally, I think that the word evil is being used too loosely nowadays. In fact, even eating a slice of a chocolate cake is considered sinful by some. The word gets thrown around too much to the point that it loses its meaning.

But really, what do you consider as evil? Even I get confused sometimes.

I’m not sure about others, but for me, doing something categorically bad doesn’t automatically mean that one is evil. I think that it’s imperative to look at the reason behind the action of the person. What is his intention? What made him do such a thing?

There are so many reasons that could make a person do what he does.

But of course, I am not discounting the fact that everyone has a choice. You can always choose between doing the right thing and doing what you want, regardless if it’s good or bad.

It’s just that, I don’t believe in looking at things in only black and white. Just because something is not right, it doesn’t automatically mean that it’s wrong. Similarly, being right doesn’t automatically make others wrong.

A perfect example:

Typhoon Haiyan took thousands of lives and destroyed cities in the Visayas region. A lot of families lost not only their members but their houses as well. Relief operations were not started immediately due to problems in logistics and communication (and basically the inefficiency of the government). This resulted to looting and thieving.

Those who stole food from the supermarkets to feed their families who are starving to death, I do not consider them evil. Those who stole, say, clothes to keep their bodies warm, I do not consider them evil. Yes, they made the wrong choices. Yes, it was wrong. Stealing is stealing, but I understand that they are desperate. In a time of chaos and disaster, who would they turn to?

But there are those who stole appliances and electronics. They are opportunists who took advantage of disaster. I consider them evil. Those who ambushed a truck containing relief goods, I consider them evil. Yes, they are starving. I get that. But seizing all those goods for themselves is just wrong.

Again, for me it’s always the motive behind the action. If a person is motivated by hate and greed, then he is evil. If a person acts only for his own good and sacrifices the people around him just to get what he wants, then that is evil. And of course, taking someone’s life is evil.

In the eyes of the Law, however, a crime is still a crime. If it is grave, you still have to pay for what you did regardless of what your reason was for doing so.

Do I make sense? No? Oh well, better end this now before I make things worse. Haha.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wicked Witch

Tell me what you think!

