Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Dialect

I know I’m a few days late, but I can’t help but get excited when I saw this topic in my feed. I live in the Philippines, and despite having English as a second language, I grew up speaking Tagalog which is the dialect that is widely spoken in Luzon. Every time I write here, I use English because it is more universal than any other language (you know, a result of globalization and stuff). Being able to write in Tagalog will be liberating in a way, for me, because of the following reasons: 1) not all would understand, so I can write whatever the hell I want (responsibly, of course), and 2) it will serve as a tool for me to be able to practice my Tagalog skills.

As Jose Rizal once said, “Ang hindi magmahal sa sariling wika, daig pa ang hayop at malansang isda.”


Whoa, that was harsh, Pepe!

I hate to admit it but yes, I suck at speaking Tagalog. I do speak Filipino, but not much Tagalog. And please don’t ask me to enumerate the differences between Filipino and Tagalog because I totally buried that lesson in my memory baul.

And seryoso, pasensya na, every time I try to write in Filipino… Laging fail.

Dati naman Filipino Club pako, hindi ko alam anong nangyari. Though hindi naman ako talaga magaling. Nag-excel lang ako dahil mahilig ako magbasa ng libro. Siguro nasa environment din, walong taon na ako nakatira sa Maynila e. Tapos araw-araw pako may kausap na foreigner sa trabaho.

Okay let’s try again, shall we?

Sa tingin ko, hindi naman talaga kailangan na perfect ang Tagalog mo. Hindi naman doon nasusukat ang pagiging Pilipino ng isang tao. May mga tao na Hindi marunong at all, pero mahal na mahal ang Pilipinas. May mga tao naman na ang galing nga mag-Tagalog pero ikinahihiya ang bansa, o kung hindi man, inaalipusta ang mga kapwa nila Pilipino.

A language is just a language. It’s the actions that count. At least, para sa akin.

Mahihirapan na siguro ako magsulat at magsalita talaga ng diretsong Tagalog. Wala ako magagawa na, pagtawanan man ako okay lang. Kasi minsan natatawa din ako sa sarili ko. So, sa mga self-righteous (sorry di ko alam translation) na wala sa lugar, at mahilig makialam sa buhay ng may buhay, utot nyo. Hahahaha.

Omg that felt good.

Tell me what you think!

