Travel While You’re Young

It’s not everyday that I come across a blog entry that I can relate to. And when I do, I make sure that I share it.

I was browsing through my Facebook feed when I saw a friend share this article. I don’t know how it started, but lately I’ve been exerting effort in clicking those links here and there (a product of boredom, I guess). That’s where I discovered elitedaily.com, Buzz Feed, and random sites. Call it curiosity if you may, but then again, I just love reading.

So anyway, back to the article…believe it or not, I almost teared up when I read it. Must be the hormones kicking in, but mostly because the whole article says it all for me.

You see, not all people appreciate wanderlust. Not all people think that traveling is worth investing on. Each and everyone of us have different beliefs, so there will always be someone who opposes what you believe in.

People often comment on how much I’ve travelled at my age— some are positive, and there are a few that are more towards the negative side. To some, traveling may be selfish. There are others who might view it as a waste of money.

Honestly, there were times when I thought about it. Sometimes I ask myself, “Shouldn’t I start saving for my future and hold the traveling for a while?” Then I think, but I won’t be 24 forever.

Sooner or later, I’ll have a family of my own. By then, my priorities would have changed already— purchasing a house, buying a car, saving for the children’s future. I don’t know if I’d still be able to fulfill my dreams once I have settled down.

Yes, it may be a little selfish in a sense. But I want to explore, to experience new things. I want to live my life without regrets. When I am old and wrinkly, I want to look back and be able to smile because of the memories I have made while still young.

If truth be told, I have learned a lot from all my travels. Somehow, I’ve become independent. Bolder. More confident. Perhaps immersing oneself in a foreign land will help you hone your people skills and resourcefulness.

This is a huge world we’re living in. Everywhere I go, there’s always something different, unique. I am eager to see more, to explore more. I want to learn more, to live more.

And I try to achieve these goals through traveling.

Be careful of the yeah-but. The yeah-but will kill your dreams. – goinswriter

Tell me what you think!

