Daily Prompt: Exhale

You have no idea how relevant today’s Daily Prompt is in my life right now.

Recently, the problems seem to be coming from all sides; whenever I overcome one hurdle, another one comes crashing down on me. Everything seems to be going wrong. I want to do so much more, but I feel so helpless.

I hate being helpless.

All I could do was pray.

You see, I am not religious. I have said this countless times: I believe in the Higher Power, the Supreme Being, God. But I don’t believe in the institutionalization of religion, I detest the narrow-mindedness that often comes with it. I believe in doing the right thing even when no one’s watching, and I believe that all people are equal in the eyes of God.

I don’t go to church, I don’t always pray.

But now, all I could do was exactly that. Pray hard.

Suddenly, things are falling into place. It may be gradual, but somehow I am slowly seeing the light. Perhaps the crying also helped, because sometimes letting it all out is the best therapy. And I guess as long as I know that there are people who love me and care for me, then I will surely survive whatever obstacle is thrown my way.

Sometimes I wonder how I could still smile and laugh despite everything, and then I realize, perhaps I’m stronger than I think.

Tell me what you think!

