Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Time for Daily Prompt!

Today’s question:

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

I remember when I was still studying— during summer vacation, I just couldn’t wait for school to start. Once the classes resume, I couldn’t wait for long weekends, for semestral breaks. When I was in college, I couldn’t wait to graduate. And now that I’m out of school and already living in the “real world”, I freakin’ want to get myself one of those Time Turners from the Wizarding World and throw myself back to those times when I was still a student.

I miss wearing my school uniform, that immaculate white dress accentuated only with a thin belt and neck tie that are both sky blue. I love twirling around and watching the long skirt follow my movement. The only skin you will see are from my arms and that little gap between my skirt and my white socks. I loved that uniform, even though I had to wear three layers of clothing inside: my undies, white cotton shorts, white sleeveless cotton dress, then finally the white dress. Oh, Catholic school!

I’ve been missing that school uniform for eight years now, because we didn’t have a uniform back in college. It was so stressful to choose my clothes every single day!

I miss the weekly allowance from my parents. Everything I spend comes from them…for rent, for food, for clothes. Even my credit cards are paid by them. Now, I have to control my spending because I pay my rent, I buy my food, clothing, everything. I have to work my ass off to earn a living.

As a student, my only problems were what to wear, how to survive the grueling exams, how to finish my thesis. The only rules I follow are the ones laid out by the school, which are mostly disciplinary. No smoking, no eating in classrooms, no fighting, no drugs. No skirts or shorts too short, no slippers in the campus. No cheating, no plagiarism. Now that I’m working, one mistake could ruin your life. Everything you do can make or break you.

Of course there are perks, I can buy whatever I want. I can travel wherever I want. My parents already allow me to stay outside until wee hours in the morning, as long as I’m with friends they trust. They allowed me to have a boyfriend. They trust my judgment.

It’s just sometimes I miss having no responsibilities, obligations. I miss being young and naïve. Perhaps I just didn’t get to enjoy my high school life because I was too sheltered by my parents, and I didn’t get to enjoy my college life because of the fast-paced environment (trimestral system).

But hey, everyone has to grow up sooner or later. I just experienced it a little bit sooner.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Tell me what you think!

