A Series of Unfortunate Events

The universe is trying to kill me.

Seriously.

I haven’t had an asthma attack for like, I don’t know, a year perhaps? And now, now that I’m mere 12 days away from my scheduled backpacking trip to few of the hottest countries in Asia (literally)…my asthma is acting up like there’s no tomorrow! How convenient.

How will I survive a place with a temperature of 30-40 degrees celsius if I’m in this condition? Not to mention all the walking and commuting that I’ll be doing. I’ve been sick for more than a week now and showing no signs of recovery.

It doesn’t help that the weather here in the Philippines is just…intense. So yeah, screw you, people who contribute to Greenhouse Effect. You’re the reason why the weather has become bipolar.

Also, screw you, Mini Stop for making that insanely delicious ice cream.

Last week, I had Malt Choco Sundae from Mini Stop about twice or thrice in a row, and then forgot to drink lots of water after that last bite. This irresponsibility on my part caused the sore throat that started it all.

You see, years ago, I had been diagnosed with Hypersensitive Tonsils (joining the long list of my illnesses: bronchial asthma, skin asthma, hyperphotosensitivity, and allergic rhinitis). Every time I eat sweets and ice cream, I have to drink lots of water to prevent tonsilitis. Whenever I drink cold drinks at night, like Frappe, I will surely lose my voice the next day. I will develop a sore throat, and then it’s downhill from there.

That’s what happened to me last week— it started with a sore throat, then severe colds, then cough, and now asthma. I was lucky not to contract a fever. I think all I need is rest, but how can I do that if I’m so swamped with work all the time?

I really do hope that I’ll get well just in time for our trip. I don’t want to be a casualty, I don’t want to burden anyone with my health problems.

Tell me what you think!

