Daily Prompt: Erasure

I’m three days behind, I know. But yes it’s been three days, and until now I’m thinking of an answer for the question:

You have the choice to erase one incident from your past, as though it never happened. What would you erase and why?

Honestly, if you ask me, I won’t erase a thing.

Mistakes are part of who we are. They are meant to teach us lessons. We stumble, we fall, but we rise again— stronger, smarter, wiser, better than ever.

If I studied Chemical Engineering instead of International Studies, perhaps I would be an actual professional now. I wouldn’t be doing this job that I am already tired of. But then, how will I learn to adapt? How will I be more outgoing? Yes, I would’ve gotten a higher paying job…but I won’t be meeting the friends that I have now.

I learned a lot from the company where I’m working, and even if I hate it most of the time recently, I couldn’t deny the fact that this is where I grew as a person, this is where I honed all my skills.

If I didn’t fall in love with my best friend, I wouldn’t have lost him. Perhaps I would still have the older brother that I never had. But then, I wouldn’t have learned not to be naïve. I wouldn’t have learned the most valuable lesson of all, which is to love yourself first. If I didn’t make that grave mistake, then I wouldn’t have learned to respect myself.

I wouldn’t be able to realize what I’m worth. I will still be that passive girl who does everything everyone asks her to do. If I didn’t make that mistake, then I wouldn’t have fought for what I deserve. I used to think that all men are the same, and I realized that if I didn’t make that stupid mistake, I won’t be able distinguish the good guys from the bad ones. I won’t be able to appreciate the man that I have right now.

So there, no erasures. There are times that I really can’t stand thinking of the mistakes that I have done…I feel stupid, embarrassed, and I just can’t help but ask myself, “What the hell were you thinking?!”

But hey, we’re all humans. We’re bound to make these mistakes. We just have to take it positively— learn from it and never, ever repeat the same mistake again.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Erasure

Tell me what you think!

