The Letter

Remember when I wrote an entry about the time capsule my college friends and I made five years ago? (I’m supposed to post a link here but I’m just using my iPhone so, please bear with me. Haha.)

Anyway, our fifth anniversary already came and went. Unfortunately, two of our friends are far away so we cannot open the time capsule together. However, being the impatient person that I am, I opened it and read my letter. Good thing my other friend is also my office mate so I also gave hers already.

It was surreal, being able to read something that was written by a younger me. I don’t even remember the things that I wrote. Anyway, here’s an excerpt:

Salut. 24 years old. Hah! … You have come a long way. I trust that you are a much better and stronger person now than 5 years ago. I would also like to believe that you are now more mature than ever…

…Let me just tell you what I am feeling right now, who I am and what are my thoughts so you will be able to see your improvement. Well, right now I am scared. I am scared of what the future holds for me…

…I’m really really really hoping that you will be a successful young woman. Whatever you have and whoever you are right now, I am proud of you. Don’t ever quit. Don’t forget who you are, where you came from. You have very much to be thankful for.

Who would’ve thought that the 19 year-old Erika had some interesting insights?

Now I’m wondering, if the 19 year-old gets a chance to meet the 24 year-old version of her, what will her reaction be? What will she say?

Tell me what you think!

