2013: A Year of Exploration and Taking Chances

New Year

I don’t do resolutions. Well, scratch that. I do make resolutions, I just always end up not following them.

This year will be different though. No resolutions.

I will, however, make a pledge: I promise to explore and take more chances.

By exploration, it doesn’t only mean traveling to a foreign land or some hidden paradise in the Philippines. It’s already given, considering the line-up of destinations waiting for me. It also means, exploring oneself. What do I really want in life? Where do I go from here? How do I move forward? Where do I see myself in five years? I would also like to say I’d like to explore new things, like food (I’m the pickiest eater ever, true story.) and other extreme activities (Hello, reverse bungy!) but I don’t want to make a commitment just yet. Let’s just say I’m open to these things, and I guess let’s just wait for nature to take its course.

When I said I’ll take more chances, it means I’ll stop being afraid. Afraid of failure, of rejection, of losing sense of control with my life. Well, here’s the thing, Erika (yes, that’s me): You won’t go anywhere if you don’t take chances. If you want to go to your dream destination, then do it. Save if you must, apply for a visa, and fly away you go. If you want to get your dream job, then at least try. Look for openings, manage your finances so when the time comes that you need to retire from work, then you have the resources to do so.

Alors, 2013…let’s do this!

Tell me what you think!

