A Love/Hate Relationship With Social Media

Social media has evolved throughout the years— it has flourished and became more diverse. It has been a very effective way of communication, as well as an efficient tool in marketing. It is a convenient means for sharing memories, ideas, and information.

In social networking, for instance, I recall MySpace and Friendster from around ten years back. I have long abandoned these sites, but now there’s Facebook, which I have been a member for as long as I can remember. I don’t know what happened to MySpace, but Friendster has already started focusing on online gaming a couple of years ago. I think that in a few years’ time, another social networking site will be born again, and it will be the new MySpace/Friendster/Facebook.

A few years ago, Multiply was a place where you can store your photos. Starting December 1, Multiply will be catering solely for online shopping. But no worries, there’s still Instagram, which is more convenient because you can instantly upload your photos using your phone since it is a phone application. Slowly, online stores have been using Instagram to promote and sell their products. Clever but tiring.

Recently, bookmarking ideas also became ‘in’, starting with Tumblr where users can reblog photos and other entries made by fellow users. I have been addicted to Tumblr for a year or two, but this year, I have left it for good.

The truth is, I have enjoyed these sites at first. It was fun and refreshing, very entertaining. For someone like me who find it hard to make friends or be comfortable with other people, these sites make me feel like I belong. Let’s just say that it was therapeutic to a certain extent.

Unfortunately though, I had to see the ugly truth eventually.

I left Friendster because I was bored. Facebook was like a shiny new toy to me and I was drawn by it, so to speak. (More like peer pressure, I think.)

I left Multiply because I am an escapist, I hate looking back at photos that bring out bad memories. I rarely look back, and when I do, I only look back at the good memories— not the awful ones.

I left Tumblr for a different reason though.

You see, I loved Tumblr. I really did. It has a little bit of everything: ideas, photos, inspirational quotes, humorous posts, blog entries, as well as current events. There are a lot of creative people on Tumblr. You would see their photographs, designs, and drawings; and it makes you aspire to be a better version of yourself.

Tumblr users seem to let go of their inhibitions when expressing themselves, and I love that. Their craziness crack me up, it amazes me how they can convert something serious into something humorous. It seems that they can always find a way in making things more fun. However, the thing is, I’m not sure whether I love it more than I hate it, or it’s the other way around.

It’s good to express yourself. The only problem is that some people take it a little too far. I’ve seen tons of cat fights that ensued on Tumblr, people sending anonymous hate messages to the more popular users. I was shocked to find out that there are a lot of haters out there, something that I don’t tolerate.

I have seen the same problem with Twitter and Instagram. I pity the celebrities who are victims of cyber-bullying just because they are famous. I cannot fathom how one can just simply insult another person straightforwardly, when the truth is he/she doesn’t even know the other person personally.

Just because you can hide behind your anonymity doesn’t mean you can take advantage of your freedom to express yourself.

Freedom of expression is your right, but all rights entail responsibility. 

 

Tell me what you think!

