Back to the 90s

There’s a reason why I’ve been missing in action lately. Well, two reasons: 1) sucky internet connection; and 2) Boy Meets World.

I have heard of this series a lot of times, but for some reason I couldn’t relate. I did a research about it and I found out that the premiere of its very first episode was back in 1993. That explains why I wasn’t very familiar with it, considering that I was only four years old when it happened. And I’m not American, so I’m not even sure if it was shown here in the Philippines.

I couldn’t even find a decent torrent file for the whole seven seasons, so I just watched it via youtube. I’m currently on the sixth season, but as I’ve mentioned, our internet is quite unreliable recently so I’m not making any progress.

All I can say is…I’m hooked. I find myself laughing all by myself while watching, and honestly, I freaked my dad out. I heard him talking to my mom asking why I was laughing alone. He was relieved when he saw that I had earphones on, and that I was watching something on my laptop.

I miss watching shows like this, where 15 year old kids actually look and act like 15 year old kids. None of that mean-cheerleaders-plus-dumb-jocks cliché. The story has a lot of discontinuity (having some inconsistency in details), but it doesn’t matter because it has depth and also funny. It tackles on family values, friendship, education, as well as relevant moral issues in a not boring and atypical approach.

And the styles of their clothes! So 90s! It’s bittersweet.

It’s sad, realizing that they don’t make kiddie shows like this anymore. Not that I blame Disney, they didn’t even create Boy Meets World. However, I do miss Lizzie McGuire and That’s So Raven. I loved those shows.

I read that Disney will be creating a sequel for Boy Meets World, I hope it pushes through…and I do hope it’s as good as the original. Well, one can dream.

Do you think TV shows affect how the kids these days behave? Because honestly, kids these days are just too…eager to grow up.

Oh my God, I’m getting old!

Tell me what you think!

