Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

ge·om·e·try/jēˈämitrē/

Noun:

  1. The branch of mathematics concerned with the properties and relations of points, lines, surfaces, solids, and higher dimensional analogs.
  2. A particular mathematical system describing such properties: “non-Euclidean geometries”.

Geometry has never been my strong point back in high school, in fact, it was my major weakness— my downfall. I don’t think I will ever get past the postulates, theorems and the process of proving. Ask me to draw, I would. But never, ever, ever try to explain the shapes and the computations and what-nots. Just thinking about geometry makes me shiver. I’m just glad I won’t be going through that subject again.

I, however, have always been fascinated with buildings with unique architectural designs, how man can make an ordinary surface be more eye-catching and fascinating. The photos above are some examples of buildings that caught my eye throughout my travels: the museum across our hotel in Hong Kong, a mall in Singapore just across Bugis, and the Marina Bay Sands.

There’s also this building in London that they call the Gherkin, which I also found interesting. The picture I have on file has me on it, so I’d rather not post it here. :)

Anyway, here’s a picture I found from Google:

There’s also the Burj al-Arab, designed by Carlos Ott, an Uruguayan architect famous for his unique building designs.

 

Now, don’t ask me which postulates and theorems the architects used to come up with such amazing designs if you don’t want me to have a seizure.

Tell me what you think!

