Bucket List #1: Northern Lights

 

I realized I haven’t included this in my bucket list, but let’s face it, my existing bucket list isn’t very organized.

Ergo, a new list!

All these years, visiting Paris has always been on top of my list. I’ve been loyal to it. But these lights, they look magical. I’ve been hearing the term aurora borealis at school but only now did I realize how amazing it looks.

Northern Lights… have been seen as far south as New Orleans in the western hemisphere, while similar locations in the east never experience the mysterious lights. However the best places to watch the lights (in North America) are in the northwestern parts of Canada, particularly the Yukon, Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Alaska. Auroral displays can also be seen over the southern tip of Greenland and Iceland, the northern coast of Norway and over the coastal waters north of Siberia. Southern auroras are not often seen as they are concentrated in a ring around Antarctica and the southern Indian Ocean.

… Researchers have also discovered that auroral activity is cyclic, peaking roughly every 11 years. The next peak period is 2013.

Seriously, 2013?! Law of Attraction, please make it happen!

Tell me what you think!

