If we wait until we’re ready, we’ll be waiting for the rest of our lives.

This is so true, and I’m not saying this just because I am impulsive by nature.

There are a lot people out there who are afraid— to take risks, to face challenges, to go out there and really live. And by living, it doesn’t entail getting hammered every night, partying as if there’s no tomorrow, or even engaging in dangerous activities.

The Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him the most about humanity, answered:

“Man. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices his money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.” 

I guess what I’m trying to say is, it’s in your disposition in life. How you view things. How you respond to challenges. What will you do if life throws you lemons? Will you cry? Will you make lemonade? Or will you request for a shot of tequila and salt to match?

If you want to do something, will you wait for the others to do it first before you make your move? Or will you grab the first opportunity that goes your way?

If you ask me to enumerate two things that people often commend me for, my answer would be : 1) the way how I always seem unruffled by stress and intense pressure, and 2) the fact that I’ve been to a lot of places despite my young age.

Well, I’m going to tell you my secret(s).

I do get stressed. There are times that I feel like my body’s giving up on me, and I’m on the verge of breaking down. In fact, there are certain occasions that I really did break down. I just didn’t show it to the world. I usually wait for the day to be over, and when I get home, that’s when I let my guard down.

It’s just that if I cry at work, I will be perceived either as a weakling or an attention-seeker. And let me tell you this, I am neither.

Cool, calm, collected. Always have been, forever will be.

With regards to my constant traveling, I really don’t give it much thought. I mean, I don’t say “Next year, I plan to go to <insert country here>!” It normally goes like this: “Ooooh there’s a seat sale this weekend, I’ll book a ticket.”

Yes, impulsive. No, definitely not filthy rich.

There’s a downside with having a penchant for traveling, it’s the fact that I don’t get to save for my future. And if I do get to save, I usually spend it a few months after for another travel-related thing. I guess I’m really a living-in-the-present kind of girl— and I haven’t decided yet if it’s a good thing or not, but my parents are glad that I’m exploring while I’m still young and unmarried, so unless they complain then I won’t stop.

When I’m old and crinkly, I don’t want to find myself looking at the window, wondering where all the years went. I don’t want to be that person who has lived a full life but never really lived the life she wanted for herself.

New motto: If you want it, you must will it. If you will it, it will be yours. (Thanks to Happy Feet 2)

Tell me what you think!

