Blast From The Past

A few days ago, I heard the news that Multiply is going to remove its social networking function. (Starting on the 1st of December, the site will focus solely on online shopping.) I have never used my account for socializing, but unfortunately, I do have a lot of photos uploaded in it. Ergo, last night, I have decided to salvage whatever memories are hidden in the depths of my forgotten Multiply site.

This afternoon, I revisited the site and I didn’t expect that I would feel like this. I felt a flurry of emotions, but if I were to describe it in one word, I must say that it was bittersweet. And who would have thought that I will be able to do some reflection through this blast in the past? I think I learned a lot about myself in the past two hours by just looking at old photos.

I didn’t know that there were many sides of me. There’s this Miss Perfect, then there’s this Wild Child. There’s this girl who loves watching band concerts, then there’s this girl who loves spending the night just lying around and reading a good book. There’s the timid version of me, then there’s the obnoxious and naughty. Or, perhaps these sides were merely phases that I had to go through? I’m not sure. I don’t know whether the Wild Child inside me left for good, or if it’s somewhere here…waiting to be woken up.

My collection of embarrassing (albeit funny) pictures from years ago is a combination of the following: me hugging a toilet bowl while throwing up (true story), me grinding in the dance floor with some random boy (true story), me sitting on the floor surrounded by my own vomit (true story), me naked while sprawled in my friend’s bath tub (true story), me passed out at the back of a friend’s car (true story), and the list goes on. I was such a mess.

But it’s true that I have changed. I finally grew out of those shenanigans (HALLELUJAH!!!), and I believe I have to thank my boyfriend for that. I rarely drink alcohol now, and I’m more laid-back. I’d be lying if I tell you that I don’t miss having that kind of fun, but there’s no compulsion anymore. I guess I finally found the happiness that I’ve been missing before.

I have to admit, I’ve had my fair share of break-up(s) and falling-out(s), and seeing old photos of these people who used to be special, well, it makes me sad. Every photo is linked with a memory, and honestly speaking, I’m not the type of person who loves rekindling awful memories of the past. I am an escapist.

I am grateful, however, to those who stuck with me for years. Seeing our photos from eight, nine, ten years ago and realizing that so much has changed yet we’re still the same people…it makes me smile. This is proof that great friendships stand the test of time.

I may have loved and lost, and then lost some more, but I realized that throughout the years, I also gained a lot (of wisdom, knowledge, experience…and weight!).

***

Now I don’t know where to store all the pictures from my Multiply account. I have thousands of pictures in our PC, and I have hundreds here in my laptop. I need to buy myself a hard drive soon.

Yes, if there’s one thing that has not changed throughout these years, it’s the fact that I’m still a camwhore.

 

Tell me what you think!

