Love, food, and travel

As a woman, I oftentimes daydream about how my future wedding would be. I used to have this account with Pinterest where I take note of all the nice ideas I come across. Unfortunately, I deleted that account yesterday. You know, one of those spur-of-the-moment OCD-related things. But one can always start again. :)

Anyway, one thing I’m certain about is that I don’t want to have the Wedding March played while I’m walking in the aisle. First, because I get startled whenever I hear that music. Second, it’s just a bit too cliché.

I’m thinking, the following songs would be perfect:

  • Run Away – The Corrs
  • Feels Like Home – Chantal Krevaziuk
  • Marry Me – Train
  • Good Life – Tyler Ward (One Republic Cover)

Of course I have to choose only one from these songs. (And why the hell am I thinking about this when I’m not even getting married in the near future?)

Run Away sounds nice, and romantic. Feels Like Home has this chilling effect, especially at the start of the song. I think Marry Me is just so cute for a wedding song, in a non-conventional way. And Good Life, well, it’s not really a love song but I like it. Haha!

It’s just that my boyfriend and I both love traveling, and Good Life is kind of about that. I think. Sounds like it. Haha.

Here’s the thing: If you will ask me to describe our relationship in three words, I would say: LOVE. FOOD. TRAVEL.

We first met in the office but never talked to each other. I was a new hire, and he was just too quiet and shy. We became friends when my friend (who has a friend who is also his friend), asked me to go with them to Cebu and Bohol. The year was 2009. We knew of each other’s existence but somehow we just didn’t care that much. During that trip, we became more than mere acquaintances though we weren’t that close. Our friendship actually developed during other various out-of-town trips with our friends.

We were united by the same passion for traveling, and I guess it is also what keeps our relationship alive. Traveling has a huge role in our relationship mainly because it was the tool that has drawn us together, and it is also what strengthens our relationship. We have been together for almost three years now, and we don’t get bored with each other because we have a lot of opportunities to bond.

Our bonding moments are not actually limited to traveling. We are also connected by our same passion for food. Every 100 days, we celebrate our relationship by dining at hotels. Yes, buffet—that explains the weight both of us have gained throughout the years.

(I think I have already strayed far from the original topic!)

Okay, back to the songs. Good life really fits us, don’t you think? Here it is:

Woke up in London yesterday 
Found myself in the city near Piccadilly 
Don’t really know how I got here 
I got some pictures on my phone 

New names and numbers that I don’t know 
Address to places like Abbey Road 
Day turns to night, night turns to whatever we want 
We’re young enough to say

Oh this has gotta be the good life 
This has gotta be the good life 
This could really be a good life, good life 

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight 
Like this city is on fire tonight 
This could really be a good life 
A good, good life 

To my friends in New York, I say hello 
My friends in L.A. they don’t know 
Where I’ve been for the past few years or so 
Paris to China to Colorado 

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out 
Sometimes there’s bullshit that don’t work now 
We are god of stories but please tell me 
What there is to complain about

When you’re happy like a fool 
Let it take you over 
When everything is out 
You gotta take it in 

Oh this has gotta be the good life 
This has gotta be the good life 
This could really be a good life, good life 

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight 
Like this city is on fire tonight 
This could really be a good life 
A good, good life

Hopelessly 
I feel like there might be something that I’ll miss 
Hopelessly 
I feel like the window closes oh so quick 
Hopelessly 
I’m taking a mental picture of you now 
‘Cuz hopelessly 
The hope is we have so much to feel good about

Oh this has gotta be the good life 
This has gotta be the good life 
This could really be a good life, good life 

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight 
Like this city is on fire tonight 
This could really be a good life 
A good, good life

Oh yeah
Good, good life
Good life
Ooh

Listen
My friends in New York, I say hello
My friends in L.A. they don’t know 
Where I’ve been for the past few years or so 
Paris to China to Colorado

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out 
Sometimes there’s bullshit that don’t work now 
We are god of stories but please tell me
What there is to complain about

Sometimes I feel like I don’t make sense. But hey, at least I understand myself, right? :)

Tell me what you think!

