The Grammar Nazi

I am a self-confessed Grammar Nazi. Whenever I come across something that’s meant to be read, I tend to notice all the spelling and grammatical errors in the process of reading. It seems like I unconsciously scan the words for errors while absorbing the thought as well. Force of habit, maybe.

And while I have no idea why I turned out to be so obsessive-compulsive when it comes to spelling and grammar, I’m not saying I don’t like it. But instead of writing an endless rant about how repulsed I am, I will just write some of the most fundamental things people shouldn’t forget when conversing or writing using the English language.

Here are three of the most common spelling and grammatical errors among people:

1. Their, they’re, there

Their is an example of a possessive adjective. It shows ownership or possession.

Correct usage: “Can we use their car?”

Incorrect usage: “Their is a cat on the roof.”

There is used when referring to a place that is far from the speaker. It is also used as a synonym to be, to indicate the existence of something.

Correct usage: “I saw a fox over there.” or “There was once a princess who lived in a castle.”

Incorrect usage: “Do not eat there food!”

They’re is a contraction of the words they and are. 

Correct usage: “They’re very nice.”

Incorrect usage: “Are you going to they’re house?”

2. Your and you’re

Your is also a form of possessive adjective. It refers to something that a person has, or to something that belongs to a person.

Correct usage: “I believe this is your book.”

Incorrect usage: “Your very funny!”

You’re is a contraction of you and are.

Correct usage: “You’re very beautiful.”

Incorrect usage: “I love you’re hat.”

3. Lose and loose.

Lose is the opposite of win. It also means, to be without.

Correct usage: “Do not lose this pen.”

Incorrect usage: “Your pants are lose.”

Loose is the opposite of tight.

Correct usage: “That’s a very loose shirt.”

Incorrect usage: “I don’t want to loose you.”

A few tips:

– Always double-check everything you write. Think twice before you say anything. It’s quite tragic whenever I see someone posting a status in Facebook or Twitter with so much angst and attitude, yet the spelling and grammar are wrong. You may think you’re cool, but in the eyes of others, it’s just pathetic. You don’t want to become the laughing stock, do you?

– Read more. By reading more, you will be able to enrich your vocabulary.

– Practice! No one’s perfect, even I make mistakes. Practice helps a lot.

Tell me what you think!

