Semana Santa

The long weekend is just around the corner. Unlike some, I don’t have any plans to travel. I bet my life that the beaches are all crowded, especially the famous vacation spots like Baguio, Tagaytay, Subic, Bicol, Palawan, and Boracay.

Sometimes, it’s better to stay in Manila during the Holy Week than go to the nearby provinces. The malls are closed, but the roads are almost empty.

Me, I’ll be going home to Laguna. I’m not very worried about passing the South Luzon Expressway (SLEX) because based on experience, the bulk of the motorists are usually in the North Luzon Expressway (NLEX).

My family often goes to the beach during Holy Week. It’s the same every year, we go to Quezon or Batangas to find a decent beach then we usually spend the night there. When I was in sixth grade though, we went to Marinduque to watch the Moriones FestivalIt’s been a long time, I don’t quite remember the particulars, but I remember the highlights.

I was excited because it was my first time to ride a ferry boat. During the ride, we saw a lot of dolphins. That was also my first time to see actual dolphins. They serve a LOT of seafood in Marinduque. Unfortunately, I don’t eat a lot of seafood, so let’s just say that I did some fasting while we were there.

Moriones Festival is observed from Holy Monday until Easter Sunday. I can’t recall what day we joined the procession, but there were a lot of Morions roaming around at the time. Honestly, it scared the hell out of me. Imagine walking in the street and bumping into this person:

It bothers me that there were numerous men who walk around wearing crowns of thorns while carrying humongous wooden crosses, and those men who whip their backs while walking, face covered in black cloth. They walk in the streets all bloodied, under the sweltering heat. I don’t see the point of hurting yourself for repentance. I don’t know how it is for others but, that’s just the way I see it.

Anyway, it was quite an experience, spending time in Marinduque even for just a short while. I actually miss the narrow streets, the seaside…but not the creepy faces of the Morions!

Have a safe long weekend everyone, and let’s not forget the essence of Lent. :)

2 thoughts on “Semana Santa

  1. Mariel says:

    Very nice entry. :) I miss Holy Week in the Philippines. It’s such a unique experience – although, like you, I don’t understand the physical punishment that some people impose on themselves.

Tell me what you think!

